life in technicolor

Have you heard about the 101 things in 1001 days project?

It’s self-explanatory really. You set yourself 101 tasks to accomplish within the span of 1001 days. And that is it. You go out, complete and document your progress. I can’t exactly recall how I came across this idea, but am truly elated I unearthed this because it’s just marvellous. I suppose it does come at a pivotal moment in my life; a time were everything is up in the air yet rife with possibility. And despite remaining stagnant on the concept for a few weeks, this is something I intend on conquering. And after the conversation with Karen I’ve become even more determined to participate.

Though a number of reasons have held me back from fully attempting this. Shameful reasons such as fear of incompletion due to my own, personal financials. But there’s also the heavy burden I’ve placed upon myself in creating my ultimate list. I don’t want to sprint through the inventory merely for the sake of commencement and in doing so compiling incoherent and frivolous tasks. I cringe at the prospect of jotting down random notes in such haste. Items such as “try five fruits you’ve never consumed,” that is completely meaningless for me. However, rephrasing that to “try a durian fruit fresh from a tree in Thailand” makes much more sense.

I yearn a sense of fulfilment from this project hence why I’m taking my time in composing this list. I need each of these 101 things to be of real, substantial value. All 101 will be memorable and forever cemented into my mind for as long as my lungs have air to breathe. So with that I will no longer feel guilt in taking time to meticulously plan and pen down each goal. This list will truly be worth its weight in gold at the finish line. But when I’ve determined all 101 of them, I’ll let you know. And obviously once I actually begin crossing each and every single one, I’ll be sure to document my progress to you Maria.

Love,

xxx

sh33
image via pinterest

 

 

4 thoughts on “life in technicolor

  1. A thought–
    Perhaps if you are worried about financial limitations, you could start out with a list of 11 things to do in 101 days, a smaller, inexpensive list drawn from your real one. It would get you in the habit and satisfaction of accomplishment, and it wouldn’t seem like such a daunting task, so easy to give up on (though I know your passion for travel, so maybe not so easy). Hopefully by then you could be financially stable enough to begin to accomplish your true list.

    In any case, sounds like an awesome idea. Can’t wait to see what you do with it! 🙂

  2. Wow… that is quite the task… I know you can do it.. like you said write that list out and start marking items off. I know what you mean about wanting to do substantial things, I commend you for wanting more than just a completion … I will be cheering you on from here. I have a really big change coming for me too… sometime this week, I guess I will find out what I am really made of, that’s okay… I think I am up for the challenge 🙂

  3. I’ve never heard of it before. A lot to think about. 101 things in 1001 days? And to document it? Wow. Awesome. But a vast amount of dedication and commitment required. I’d feel caged by my own desires and shortfalls – an odd one. Kudos to those who make their 101s a reality.

thoughts? secrets? leave them here

